Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This is the part where I say that these TASTE so much better than they LOOK — ideally they’d look a little more roughly shaped, with the tasty ingredients popping out…

[True confession time……I think I need new glasses.. In the tiny square of my news feed, I totally thought that Bon Appetite was featuring the SAME recipe! Um….nope…these are new potatoes with dill… heh heh heh]

TINY potato picture

Now, back to business at hand. Credit for this recipe goes to menubyvicky, where I found it, and to Gina Dimitropoulos, whom Vicky credits in her post.

My ingredients differ slightly from the original, but, as Vicky points out, that’s the great thing about this recipe!

You’ll Need:

1 scoop protein powder, about 36g (Biggest Loser Vanilla Bean Protein Powder)

1/2 cup rolled oats (I used Bob’s Red Mill 5 Grain Rolled Hot Cereal with Flax Seed to replaced this and the next two ingredients)

1 tablespoon ground flax seed

1 tablespoon ground chia seed

2 tablespoons honey

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips (Hershey’s Special Dark semi-sweet chips)

1/2 cup natural peanut butter (Skippy Natural Creamy Spread)

Mix all ingredients with a sturdy spatula, roll tablespoon-sized balls, chill for 20 minutes before serving – store in fridge or freezer.

The recipe, as I made it, made 12 protein bites, each with the following nutritional value:

calories 154; total fat: 9.4 g (saturated 3.4 g); cholesterol 2.7 mg; sodium 65.2 mg; potassium 5.9 mg; total carbs 16.4 g (fiber 3.0 g, sugars 10.3 g); protein 4.4 g

