Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

It’s the tired theme of too many sitcom episodes. Clueless husband either forgets an important occasion or marks a first Christmas together by giving his wife a blender…or a chainsaw.

Don’t get me wrong. No one in our house has forgotten the Christmas meltdown of 2010, when, on Christmas Eve, Scott and the boys headed out to the corner drugstore to buy my present….again. I usually received a gift card, to Starbucks or Barnes & Noble, which was FINE, but a little “lazy” IMO. Turned out to be a fairly lucrative holiday, post-meltdown. As Scott explained it Christmas morning, “At 8 o’clock on Christmas Eve, our options were limited, so we threw some more money at it.” (It’s hard to be stay mad when you get gift cards to B&N, Starbucks, Target, Bed Bath & Beyond, AND Bath and Body Works. SCORE!)

My mother’s gift this year was something that I have been asking about for a while — a new knife block and knives. Our old knives had gotten so dull that I had to saw away at anything that I needed to cut – even with the “butcher” knife!

My new KitchenAid knives are beautiful and sharp as HELL. We actually had a “family meeting” to discuss just HOW sharp they are. While the kids are the most likely to grab a steak to make peanut butter and jelly, I’m the one most likely to drop the chef’s knife on the DOG, pinning him to the floor. They also need to be hand washed. I should probably buy chainmail gloves.

P.S. One of my favorite things about blogging is Googling images for something that you don’t even think exists and finding 1,000 pictures of it. This was a pretty simple search; compared to something like “two elderly women in a grocery store, looking at fruit, one with a walker”. What’s the craziest image you’ve looked for, for your blog, and FOUND?

