Tags

, , ,

If this post helps one other person, it will be worth it. But, first, someone needs to help me.

I was typing away on the laptop (Toshiba Satellite) last evening and was in WordPress working on this blog, when everything went screwy. I used the track pad to move the cursor back a paragraph and started typing. I can’t say that “nothing” happened – the entire paragraph in question started changing format, from Heading 1 through Heading 6 every time I pressed ANY key. Then, I tried to backspace, and whole words disappeared at a time, not one space at a time.

Basically, the only thing working as expected was the cursor.

As has been attributed to Albert Einstein, “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” So, I did what I always do when I have a computer problem. I shut ‘er down and restarted. Everything was back to normal. I saved the draft and called it a night.

In the interest of full disclosure, a) I am not the world’s best typist and b) I was watching Biggest Loser while typing. SO, all that I can imagine is that I hit upon some kind of magic key combination or lock that got me into trouble.

It wouldn’t be the first time. According to my husband, I was the last person on Earth to understand the Ctrl (+) and Ctrl (-) system of zooming in and out.  I used to accidentally do it all the time, followed by total panic when the words were too small to read or too large to fit a whole paragraph on the screen. After watching me meltdown over this a few nights ago, he let me in on the secret, which is apparently widely applicable.

Anyone else ever have a keyboard mutiny?

